Throw Up the Deuce

Icon

In Quotes: Marat on Tennis

Oh, Marat, your interviews are just divine. Here’s what he had to say about what he wants to take from his tennis:

“Oh, first of all, I’m 28. I’ve been already on tour for 10 years, and I want to enjoy my tennis. I don’t want to fight anybody. I don’t want facing any problems on the court. I just want to enjoy.

It’s not like I’m playing because I’m starving from death and I need to do something original to earn money. I want to enjoy. It’s so simple. I just want to enjoy. I don’t want to fight. I don’t want to shout.

I just want to have a nice match, win or lose, and whatever happens to go home. That’s it. I don’t want to face the foot faults and all these things. So I don’t have to put myself together, let’s try to calm down, let’s play some tennis.

The guy from Vince’s side was shouting every five minutes, Come on Vince; come on Vince. Also it’s annoying. (laughter.)

So you need really to concentrate on that. But unfortunately I have to. I have to do that. But I wish I could play normal tennis and enjoy my matches sometimes.”

I also think Marat needs a haircut. Just, a trim, though, he’s looking a little scruffy.

Filed under: Safin, U.S. Open, , , ,

Leave a Reply

